Our Curriculum – An Overview

As a maintained school we follow the National Curriculum. There is a clear and statutory entitlement for all children in education which determines the content and skills that children need to be taught. The children are split into Key Stages and taught the relevant aspects of the curriculum:

  • Foundation Stage: Reception
  • Key Stage One: Years One and Two
  • Lower Key Stage Two: Years Three and Four
  • Upper Key Stage Two: Years Five and Six

When delivering the National Curriculum we aim to do it in an exciting and creative way this is because we know it enhances learning. Our school vision means that all learning is planned to encourage our key curriculum drivers, which are:

  • Be adventurous
  • Be creative
  • Be an effective Communicator
  • Develop skills for life

All in the context of working with communities.